DMFE Response 5: Spiritual Disciplines

What are some (at least three) spiritual disciplines, which seem particularly well suited to support you in your ministry and life of faith?

The time we spent focussing on spiritual practices while at the DMFE did not introduce me to any new specific spiritual practices or disciplines; however, it did give me a greater understanding of their importance and history within Christianity. The metaphor of being a reservoir that needs to be full at all times because we cannot give what we do not have helped to underline this importance to me at a time when I had been struggling to maintain my commitment to practicing spiritual disciplines. I also appreciated using another “spiritual type” test to assist in recognizing disciplines that may feel more or less comfortable.

At this point I see a commitment to a few core practices being essential while also leaving time each week to try additional spiritual disciplines. The practice that I start and end my day with is a combination of centering prayer and Ignatius’ Examen prayer as I begin with thanksgiving and intercessory prayer as well as looking back over the last several hours or day and praying through that memory, and then I simply take myself to a sacred space and continue in centered prayer. I also enjoy doing a similar contemplative prayer while moving (generally a “prayer walk”) in the middle of the day. As a result of the appreciation I have gained both for monastic ritual and for setting a rule for one’s life, I will be implementing a personal rule that includes these contemplative prayer times as well as other practices and attitudes that I am still discerning.

In addition to the specific prayer disciplines, I see the disciplines of spiritual journaling and of slowing down and listening to be useful to me in both my ministry and my faith. I have journaled inconsistently in the past, and look forward to creating a disciplined way of incorporating journaling into my faith life. And while the practice of slowing down to notice and listen isn’t entirely new to me, I have not practiced it regularly in the past. In addition to practicing listening as a part of ministry, I plan to implement it simply as a regular practice both in solitary and within my family. I also plan to continue lectio divina or dwelling in the word on a regular, although not daily, basis. I also now realize how important spiritual discipline mentors are, and I will be seeking them out.

**Disclaimer? — please remember that I am sharing these as first response answers to questions to my Diaconal Ministry Formation Event and not as polished, researched essays. Although I welcome responses, please do keep this in mind when you respond (as well as the fact that my current schedule limits how often I can reply to comments) **

Leave a Reply

