Too busy not to pray!*

“I have so much to do that I shall spend the first three hours in prayer.”
— Martin Luther

I have been fond of this Luther quote since I first discovered it while in confirmation class when I was 11. Since then I have often used it when expressing how busy I think I am or how long my to-do list is (too long to-do lists are a constant challenge for me) by saying something like, “I have so much to do; I better spend 3 hours in prayer first!” But I never did. It sounded good though.

And then I did. And it changed everything.

I continue to struggle for balance each day, and with each season and life transition the struggles to balance my time, and more importantly, center my life, continue. I have learned that it doesn’t take three hours though. Instead after a time possibly as brief as three minutes my an entire attitude can change, and the entire day becomes a living prayer.

The list of chores, the work assignments, and everything else I want to accomplish is still important, but not AS important. The prayer changes the weight of the workload because the prayer changes me.

How has/does prayer change you?

What is one of your favorite quotes on prayer? What about a quote that makes you smile when you have a lot to do?

Love and belief,
Tami

*and some of you may realize I stole this title from a great book on the topic. If you’re not familiar with it, check it out at:
Too Busy Not to Pray

3 thoughts on “Too busy not to pray!*

  1. Pingback: 100-Word Challenge, Day 144 | My Writer's Cramp

  2. Great Post! Thanks for sharing!

    I love reciting one of the creeds or the Lord’s Prayer, and listening for what sticks out. I was in tears one day when I dwelt on the notion of God’s name (from hallowed be thy name) because I realized that in the very name God gave us for Godself, it was also a promise that God IS, and that God is our God not only because of who God is or what God does, but that both are connected.

  3. Pingback: Sunday School/Small Groups: Four Lessons I Learned from Pokemon Go | tonystopic

Leave a Reply

